Julian Lennon Picks
CityReverbCity Reverb - Star Power

City Reverb are Chris Coco, Micky Bucherri, Nick Cornu, Adam Barry and Lew West. The band just released their debut album, “Lost City Folk” which is a great blend of electronic and organic music.

This album features amazing tracks such as, “Star Power”, “City of Lights” and “Everything Will Be Alright” to name a few.

The quote below is taken directly from the band’s Myspace page. Also be sure to check out a full review and video from Jeff Stalling’s Resident corner on the Below Zero website.

“In 2008 for the first time in the history of mankind there will be more people living in cities than there are left behind in the countryside. By 2050 a staggering 75% of the world’s population will live in cities.

Is the human race keeping up with the relentless pace of change or are we all becoming lost city folk, searching for soul and direction in the maze-like canyons of our new concrete world?”
rafterRafter - Sweaty Magic

Hot on the tail of his acclaimed afro-tropicali-folk-funk-noise-pop full-length Sex Death Cassette, Rafter will be releasing the Sweaty Magic EP smack in the swarth of August. This is no standard-fare, holding pattern, marketing strategy EP. No!  Sweaty Magic is the ultimate booty cap to Summer Oh-Eight's globally-warmed love-exhaust festival. Listeners taking a break from the floor to get another organic mojito-flavored energy drink might hear swirls of Tom Ze, Prince, Clipse, Zapp & Roger, Mr. Fingers, and D'Angelo staying up late in some non-exclusive beach rave with glowing extraterrestrial energy spheres.

The EP began as a collaborative project with photographer Lizeth Santos to complete an art project a day. For Rafter, this often meant a self-made song entirely from production, vocals, to instrumentation, accompanied by a corresponding photograph from Lizeth. Asthmatic Kitty published a handful of these on their website, and they made their way onto blogs and forums from there.

It soon became clear that the quickfire songs represented a distinct shift from 10 Songs, Music for Total Chickens, and even the recent Sex Death Cassette. The energy from the self-imposed requirement of a song-a-day infused the music with a sense of urgency and timing, summarized in three simple words: You. Must. Dance.

Sweaty Magic is Rafter center stage in a gold Speedo (American Apparel banned at the door), firing lasers of love from his eyes. If you're not shaking your booty by the second track, you might want to look behind you to make sure it's still there.


jemJem - It's Amazing

"Down to Earth" is the second album by Jem, the follow-up to her successful 2004 debut, Finally Woken.  The first single, "It's Amazing," was featured on the soundtrack to "Sex and the City" movie.  Jem co-wrote the album with a variety of people including Jeff Bass, LEster Mendez and Greg Kurstin.  She also collaborates with South African singer-songwriter and poet-activist Vusi Mahlasela on the track "You Will Make It" recalling 9/11 and the dealing with the suffering of loss.

The title for her second album is a perfect description to this talented and positive... Jem.


clarahillClara Hill - Be Like That

Born in Berlin, Germany and founder of the acid-jazz band Superjuice, Clara Hill has gone on to work as a successful solo artist with three studio albums under her belt, "Restless Times", "All That I Can Provide", and "Folkways:Sideways".

Her latest, Sideways was released in 2007 and it made a perfect choice this week to revisit the wonderful "Be Like That" from the album which is another side to this beautiful talent.  It still stays close to her soulful and R&B roots, but it also goes a few steps deeper.  Her long standing relationship with Jazzanova and Sonar Kollectiv really stands out on this release making future folk music blend seamlessly with her voice and lyrics.

curtsmithCurt Smith - Seven of Sundays

"Halfway, Pleased" is the new solo release from Curt, which is a semi-autobiographical album about his relationships with his children, parents and friends.  Curt put a lot behind this release as he began work on it back in 2001 but it was put on a hiatus as he mended his relationship with Roland Orzabal and went back to work on a final chapter on his Tears for Fears project, "Everyone Loves A Happy Ending".

Halfway, Pleased was released in May 2008 on Curt's own KOOK Media and the album is a beautiful journey of music with long soundscapes, uplifting melody and dreamy down tempo.  "Seven of Sundays" also appears as a bonus track sung with French Artist, SO.

header email

Below Zero has costs to keep the show running in the form of hosting and music.  We appreciate any help to keep the chill alive.



MixCloud Follow


Follow us on MixCloud! Download their app, which makes it super easy to listen to Below Zero each week!